Asian Noodle Stir-Fry

 

Blogging in the Bizzard: Asian Noodle Stir-Fry

 

It so happens that on this day, the Chicago area is being struck with biggest blizzard in the city’s history since 1967. To put in the point of view of a 17-year-old. DAMN this is the biggest storm I have seen in my life! I write this post as the scene outside is bleak and unforgiving. Fierce, “life-threatening” (as they said on the news) winds and the relentless snow. So relentless this snow is that it caused our school district (which hardly ever shuts down) to cancel all classes tomorrow already, and let us out 10 minutes early. Needless to say, this only resulted in a chaos as 4,000 students fled out the building eager the beat the storm home. To bad that it had already started though, and what is usually a painless 10-minute commute became a half-hour nightmare. I swear by the time I got home my hands were about to fall out of their joints. One cup of fine Rose and Strawberry-Infused French tea and two slices of Lou Malnati’s deep-dish pizza later, I am happy to report that all is well, indoors that is. I can hardly imagine the mountain of snow that will greet me tomorrow morning as I look out of the window.

SO what better way to spend the evening before the snow day… homework (HAHA, what I would normally choose but as I am a second-semester senior, stricken with senioritis, the homework will have to wait until tomorrow. What does sound good though, is little time blogging of course!

This recipe is one for and Asian-Style Noodle Stir-Fry that brings together all the great Asian flavors in one dish. Its quite a triumph really, considering that for most of my upbringing, any Asian food that my mother tried to make at home was for the most part vile and disgusting (sorry mommy, but you know that I only speak the truth) and so after I made this dish I was pleasantly surprised. The flavours worked and the dish begin to gel and flow in harmony. The vegetables, a lovely assortment of cabbage, carrots, peppers, and tomato, are lovely crisp as they are cooked quickly in a very hot wok. The dressing that ties the dish together is wonderful blend of soy sauce, rice-vine vinegar, sesame oil, chili-paste, and some vegetable oil to bring it together. Some fresh garlic and ginger cooked early on in the process, provide those characteristic Asian flavours that we all look for when we order our favorite Chinese take-out.

While this is not what I am eating for dinner today (I actually made this a couple weeks back), I think it would be a wonderful thing to slurp on during this horrendous storm (I swear just a second ago it looked as if the streetlamp outside our house was about to tip over). Hopefully, y’all are sitting somewhere nicer than I am and reading this, and for those of you are like me stranded in your homes due to this blizzard, well don’t get slizzard! (haha, I just couldn’t help myself there 🙂 ). Go ahead jump in the kitchen and make yourself a bowl of these noodles!

Recipe: Asian Noodle Stir-Fry

A Kooking Fever Original
Serves: 2-3
Time: 25 minutes
Ingredients:
Noodles:
  • 1/2 pound of Chow-Mein, Spaghetti, or Capellini Noodles
  • 1 bell pepper, sliced lengthwise
  • 1/2 head of red cabbage, chopped
  • 1/2 tomato, cut into rough chunks
  • 1/2 cup shredded carrot
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon of ginger, finely chopped
Dressing:
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons rice-wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 2 teaspoons chili-garlic paste
Directions:
Prepare noodles according to package directions. Meanwhile heat up a wok with a little bit of oil. Once the wok is screaming hot, add the cabbage and cook until softened, about 3 minutes. Then add the peppers and carrots and cook for about another 10 minutes. While the vegetables are finishing up, whisk together the vegetable oil, soy sauce, rice-wine vinegar, sesame oil, and chili-paste in a bowl. Add the noodles and sauce to the wok and remove from heat. Stir to combine and then platter up!
 
 
Leave a Reply

