Chocolate-Raspberry Brownies

 

Saturday, January 15, 2011

 

I went to France over winter break. I vacationed in the French Riviera and visited the Nice, Antibes, Eze, and the princely state of Monaco. It was, as you would expect amazing, but to me the city really stole my heart. I instantly fell in love with quaint charm of Old Town Nice, the sleepiness of Antibes, the medieval and jaw-dropping views of Eze, and the superfluous elegance of Monaco. However, above all of these thrills, the best part of the vacation, for me at least, was the FOOD. Yes, I will not be ashamed to admit that I went to France to eat because those French, boy are they passionate about food. Every meal I ate was prepared with the utmost love and devotion to the art of cooking. I experienced such magnificent flavours and beautiful food. So like any foodie would, I decided to bring back some of these french flavours back home. From the Cours Saleya, the super awesome open-air market in Nice, we brought back Provencal lavender, fig mustard, an assortment of fancy teas, pastis di Nice (a strong anise-flavoured liquor), and the ingredient that I will show you today, artisan raspberry jam.

There was just something about this jam that allured me. Maybe it was ornate packaging, or the thrill of the moment. No, I think it was the fact that when I layed my eyes on this jar, it looked like it had come from someone who truly cared about its production. Hence I eagerly brought a bottle of it home.


I decided to incorporate this jam into brownies. I feel that chocolate is wonderful vehicle to express the raspberry flavour. The brownies ooze with chocolaty elegance, but at the same time, the addition of raspberry jam adds little pockets of tart flavour that pair so well with this dessert.

Recipe: Chocolate-Raspberry Brownies

Adapted from: Nigella Lawson’s Everyday Brownies

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup of good-quality raspberry jam

Method: Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Melt the butter over a gentle heat in a saucepan. Once the butter has melted, add the sugar and mix over a low heat till has been fully incorporated. In a separate bowl, whisk together the cocoa powder, flour, baking soda, and salt and then stir these ingredients in to the pan with the butter and sugar. Remove from the heat.
In another bowl, beat the eggs and the vanilla, and then add the dry ingredients. Pour the mixture into a 13X9 baking dish lined with aluminum foil.

Then swirl in 1/4 cup of raspberry jam into the batter and place the dish in the oven for 20 to 25 minutes, till the brownies are dark and set on the top, but still a little jiggly on the inside. Allow the brownies to cool for a little bit and then serve warm or cold.
 

P.S: Sorry, but I must apoligize for the horrible picture quality. I was working with a very old camera for this post, and I am not a very talented photographer. Let me assure you that the future posts will yield better pictures!

Leave a Reply

