Banana Bread Muffins

What makes the perfect muffin? Is it a crispy top, a moist interior, or a feeling of satisfaction in your belly once you have consumed one of those humongous-sized ones that they sell at Costco? To be honest I think most of us enjoy the first two and maybe the third. Truth be told, for a long time I loved the muffins of Costco, but I have recently realized that they are too sweet, too big, and to be honest they just make me feel gross on the inside after I have eaten one. Yet, I still crave muffins. They are the underappreciated cousin of the cupcake, mostly because they are nowhere near as pretty as the wondrous creations made on Cupcake Wars, and they usually come in a pretty standard set of flavors (blueberry, banana nut, chocolate chip, lemon poppy-seed, etc.). Thus I guess my question is, why must we succumb to the boring and the bland when we have the power to create whatever sort of muffins we want! Now I’ll admit I love myself a good slice of banana bread so why not turn it into a muffin? All you got to do is pour the banana bread batter into a muffin tin instead of a loaf pan and “Voila!” banana bread muffins! They are light and moist and to give it an extra zing of flavor I threw some coffee into the batter to combine two classic breakfast favorites (muffins and coffee). The banana bread recipe comes from a children’s cookbook, but trust me, this recipe has been favorite of our family for as long as I can remember and it has been my go-to recipe for years. So throw out those yucky store-bought muffins that you probably have lying around and instead try a freshly baked dozen of these!

Recipe: Banana Bread Muffins

Adapted from the Alpha-Bakery Cookbook

Makes a dozen muffins

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (3 large)
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup strong prepared coffee (made by mixing about 1/2 of boiling water with a 1 teaspoon of instant coffee)

Directions

  1. Heat the oven to 325-degrees farenheit
  2. Grease a muffin pan or line with cupcake liners
  3. Mix sugar, bananas, oil, eggs, and vanilla in a large bowl. Stir in flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and coffee. Pour into muffin tin.
  4. Bake for about 20-25 minutes, or until a wooden pick inserted in the center of the muffins comes out clean. Allow to cool completely in pan before removing.
Leave a Reply

