Ditching Class and a Less than Legit Photography Attempt: Cookie Dough Truffles!

Because I was feeling in a bit of sightly idiotic mood today, not the I feel stupid, but more the I want to do something scandalous today kind, I decided to skip my Statistics lecture today (INSERT SHOCK OF HORROR FACE HERE). Ha, not only is Statistics quite easy in some of the most obvious ways, it feels pointless to go sometimes when all the professor will be doing during the class period is doing the homework problems in class! Yeah I know to most kids that would sound like the best incentive ever, but for me, no. I would actually prefer to learn the material. Anyway,  as I came back and was chomping on a dreadful meal of a turkey burger and boiled spinach for lunch, I thought of the most brilliant idea (well at least it was at that time any way). I decided to do a photo shoot of these highly acclaimed cookie dough truffles that I made last weekend! Now before I get into this, let me emphasize that I am NO photographer. I couldn’t take a picture to save my life. Therefore, in my opinion, a photo shoot is going ahead and snapping a couple of shots with my cell phone camera, which actually happens to have an 8 megapixel lens so I guess that is kind of legit, and making a failiure-ish attempt at some sort of artistic positioning of the objects in the shoot. Any who, I have to say that I was actually kind of pleased of the final product that came out. The detail of the truffles can be seen quite well, the lighting was shoddy but somewhat good, and the truffles just look so scrumptious sitting there on a tacky floral plate with a half-eaten one starring in the forefront. Shockingly enough, I will say that this was worth skipping class for.

Now about the truffles themselves, these things are absolutely delicious and addictive. All my friends who had tasted them throughout the week had given nothing, but praise, and let’s be honest, who doesn’t love cookie dough? Now I will actually admit that sometimes I do shy away from it because I’m not into the whole “lets eat raw eggs” thing, but lucky for me, and everyone for that matter, the cookie dough in these truffles is egg free! To top it off, that’s actually a good thing because not only does the dough not taste any different, it’s actually kind of healthier without all of that added cholesterol. The recipe for this delectable treat is actually from another wonderful blog, My Edible Memories, so I will be going ahead and giving them credit by posting the link for the recipe on this page. The only changes I made though, was that I reduced the sugar to 1/2 a cup each of white and brown sugar, semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of dark chocolate chips, and I decided to coat my truffles in dark chocolate instead to give a more gourmet bite and because dark chocolate is awesome! Last but not least, I need to note that these truffles are a snap to make and best of all there’s not baking involved! That means all you people who are scared of turning on your ovens can easily make this recipe and enjoy!

Recipe: Cookie-Dough Truffles

Recipe Source: http://myediblememories.net/category/desserts/chocolate/  (this is the link to the original recipe, but I will be posting the recipe with my adaptations below)

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda (optional)
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature (i actually used one stick salted and one stick unsalted and noticed no difference)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup milk (i used skim milk)
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 12 oz bittersweet chocolate (around 60% chocolate) for coating

Instructions:

  1. Cream together the butter and sugar in a large bowl or stand mixer until well incorporated.
  2. Add in the milk and vanilla and blend until combined
  3. Add in the flour, baking soda, and salt. Chop up the chocolate chips if you are using regular chocolate chips. If you are using mini chocolate chips, just through them in. Mix the whole mixture until everything is well incorporated.
  4. Cover and chill the dough in the fridge for about 1 hour or so, until it is well chilled. Then form 1-inch balls with your hands and place the balls of cookie dough on a baking sheet.
  5. Place the cookie dough balls in the freezer to cool throughly for about 30 minutes.
  6. Chop up the bittersweet chocolate and melt in the microwave at 30-second intervals until it is all melted. Dip the cookie dough balls in the chocolate and shake off the excess coating before placing the truffles in a container.
  7. Allow the truffles to cool and set in the fridge for a couple of hours before enjoying!

Cooking Notes: 

  • Be sure to keep the truffles refrigerated. Otherwise the chocolate will melt and you will get a funky mess.
  • For some fun variations, I would recommend throwing in mint chips into the batter or perhaps throwing in some fun flavorings into the dark chocolate coating, such as orange zest, grated coconut, ginger, cayenne pepper, or any delicious sort of berry or orange flavored liqueur, such as Framboise, Chambord, Cointreau, or Gran Mariner. 
3 thoughts on “Ditching Class and a Less than Legit Photography Attempt: Cookie Dough Truffles!

  1. Fantastic job Rahul…your blog is turning out to be fun to read…..of course I cannot cook to save my life but I can dream…

Leave a Reply

