Warmth: Carrot and Ginger Soup

DSCN1069I must say, I never agreed to live in Siberia. I think that’s what everyone around here has been saying for the past two weeks. Good thing, I missed the worst of it, or so I thought. It looks like the “polar vortex” with its bone chilling temperatures will be making a return to the Midwest, and that makes me mad.

Ironically enough, I constructed this soup when I was some place a fair deal warmer. Almost 60 degrees warmer if I can be precise. Yes the pleasant, 50 degree (that’s in Fahrenheit) French nights are what I miss the most right now as I sit holed up in my room trying to avoid the ice-covered hell-hole outside. Thank God for my DVR and Netflix. #score

Needless to say when I visited Les Halles almost two Sundays ago, I was greeted by a fabulous array (as always) of produce including these radiant spears belowDSCN1059

Who could resist them? Bright orange with the frizzy, green tops still attached these carottes aux jardin were just screaming, “Puree me into a velouté, s’il vous plaît”. Accented with a wad of ginger, a hint of cinnamon, and couple spoons of really awesome crème fraîche for good measure, this carrot and ginger soup will thaw out those frozen extremities and warm up your icy mood, reminding you that the best defense against the cold can be found right in the kitchen.

Bon Appetit!

Recipe: Carrot and Ginger Soup

  • About 8-10 medium-sized carrots, peeled and chopped into large chunks
  • 1 medium onion, peeled and chopped
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger, peeled and cut into large chunks
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • pinch ground cumin
  • 3-4 tablespoons crème fraîche or sour cream, adjust to your liking
  • minced chives, for garnishing
  • 2-3 tablespoons salted butter

Method

In a large pot, melt a couple of tablespoons of butter (about 2-3) over medium-high heat. Once melted, add the onion andDSCN1062 cook until softened and beginning to caramelize, about 5-10 minutes. Add the ginger and cook for a minute.  Then add the ground cinnamon and cumin and stir allowing the spices to cook out for a minute or two. Add the carrots and enough water to cover to submerge them completely. Bring the mixture to a boil and season with salt and pepper. Simmer the soup for about 30 minutes, till the carrots are soft enough to break through with a wooden spoon. Blend the mixture until smooth and return to the stove. Add the crème fraîche and allow the soup to simmer for about 5 additional minutes. Season to taste with salt and garnish with fresh chives and perhaps a little additional drizzle of crème fraîche before serving.

Leave a Reply

